Tracking / Trip recording

How to post a track that was saved to the server

Intro

This feature allows you to live track your trip in Sea People but post at a later date, whether for privacy reasons or to wait for better connectivity. This function is for those of you who have tracked a trip in Sea People and pressed ‘finish and save’ instead of posting the full trip or an update.

Post a Saved Track

If you are now ready to share your trip to the social feed and into your logbook, then start here:

  1. Select “Draw Trip” from the tracking menu.

  2. Click the blue text that reads “loads your server track”.

  3. This should load your entire tracking history on Sea People.

  4. To quickly trim the track, drag the slider bar at the bottom of the screen until you see the segment of your track that you would like to post.

  5. If you would like to leave any points out of your track line, you will need to enable delete mode.

    • Delete mode: This will allow you to delete points along your saved track. Be aware that this action permanently deletes these points from your saved track history, so be sure that you want to perform this task.

    • To enable delete mode, first click the trash can icon.

    • Tap on the point(s) you would like to delete.

    • Click the trash can icon again to disable delete mode.

  6. Once your track is as desired, press “Next” in the top right-hand corner to create a post of your drawn track.

Post your Trip to Community Feed and Logbook

  1. Choose Your Trip Date: Select the dates when your trip occurred to accurately set its duration.

  2. Give Your Trip a Title: Choose a fun and descriptive title for your adventure.

  3. Write a Description: Share details about your trip, such as fishing experiences, weather conditions, or memorable moments with friends.

  4. Add Media: Include photos or videos from your trip to enrich your post. If you don't have any media, your trip will still show up as a trackline on the social feed and in your logbook.

  5. Select the Boat: Choose the boat associated with this trip. If your boat isn't listed, you can add it to your profile. However, we recommend completing the post with the incorrect boat first, then editing your profile to add the boat, and finally editing the post to update the boat association. This way, you won't lose any information you've entered on the ‘New Trip’ page by navigating away from it.

  6. Posting: Once you've filled in all the details, click the "Post" button to share your trip to the social feed and logbook.